The 20 Greatest Soundtracks Of All-Time – The Cover Art

by

Here’s the cover art for my latest mixThe 20 Greatest Soundtracks Of All-Time. The image below was NOT photoshopped or digitally contrived* – it was shot on December 5, 2008 at the Grand Lake Theater in Oakland, CA. A huge thanks to photographers Ronny Knight and Mark Adams, who brought the image to life. No suprise there, as these are the same guys who shot the Hip-Hop Sgt Pepper’s cover for me, among other photos.

I also have to thank the proprietors of the Grand Lake Theater. I imagined the scene for this cover taking place on their marquee, and frankly no other theater would have done. For the last several years, theater owner Alan Michaan has dedicated one of his marquees to messages regarding the state of the political world, repeatedly calling out Bush and Cheney for their evil misdeeds (you can see the entire set of politically-oriented marquees here). These marquees helped keep me sane during the darkest hours of the Bush administration. My thanks to Mr Michaan and Audrey Marr for coordinating their people on my behalf. Special thanks also to the Grand Lake Theater’s Sam O’Dell (on ladder) and Jeremy Kearney (holding ladder) for being cooperative and good-natured enough to hold the pose below for several takes over a two hour span on a cold December evening.

Because my favorite movie director is Alfred Hitchcock, I decided to make a cameo appearance in this album cover. That’s me holding the sign to the left of the gatefold (*the lettering on which is the only thing manipulated in this picture) and not cutting nearly as interesting a profile as Hitch. My jowls need some work…

Ronny and Mark provided dozens of photos that would have worked perfectly for this cover, but I ended up using only three of them. I’ve included some of the outtakes beneath the track listing below.

Thanks again to everyone who was involved in making this happen…

Here’s the front gatefold:
The 20 Greatest Soundtracks Of All-Time | Front

Here’s the inside gatefold:
The 20 Greatest Soundtracks Of All-Time | Inside
[read the complete liner notes here]

Here’s the back inside:
The 20 Greatest Soundtracks Of All-Time | Tray Insert Inside

Here’s the back:
The 20 Greatest Soundtracks Of All-Time | Tray Insert Back

Here’s the track listing:

Creation * Making Time (from the movie Rushmore)
Bobby Freeman * Do You Wanna Dance (American Graffiti)
Prince & The Revolution * Let’s Go Crazy (Purple Rain)
Jimmy Cliff * The Harder They Come (The Harder They Come)
The Soggy Bottom Boys * I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow (O’ Brother Where Art Thou?)
Air * Playground Love (Virgin Suicides)
Curtis Mayfield * Superfly (Superfly)
Circle Jerks * When The Shit Hits The Fan (Repo Man)
Grandmaster Caz * South Bronx Subway Rap (Wild Style)
Alice In Chains * Would? (Singles)
The Bee Gees * Stayin’ Alive (Saturday Night Fever)
The Band * It Makes No Difference (The Last Waltz)
Joy Division * Love Will Tear Us Apart (24 Hour Party People)
Ben Charest * Belleville Rendez-Vous (The Triplets Of Belleville)
Rose Royce * I Wanna Get Next To You (Car Wash)
Talking Heads * Sax And Violins (Until The End Of The World)
Jerry Garcia * Love Scene Improvisations (Version 1) (Zabriskie Point)
David Boeddinghaus & Craig Ventresco * Harlem Strut (Crumb)
Rufus Thomas * Do The Funky Chicken (Wattstax)
Richie Havens * Freedom (Woodstock)

And here are some photo outtakes:

GrandLakeTheater_0106

GrandLakeTheater_0275

GrandLakeTheater_0516

GrandLakeTheater_0500

GrandLakeTheater_0186

GrandLakeTheater_00971

GrandLakeTheater_0471

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “The 20 Greatest Soundtracks Of All-Time – The Cover Art”

  1. Dylan Says:

    Very very cool. Nice work!

  2. esbandido Says:

    I was wondering how you photoshopped that cover to look so real. Cheers to you for getting other people so into your ideas. I personally, have no idea what that feels like.

  3. fredabercrombie Says:

    I knew you guys shot the theater but had no idea they did the actual letters, too. Big ups, Dan!!!

    ::

  4. Anna Lee Says:

    Hey Dan,

    Not sure if we ever talked about this before, but I grew up right around the corner from the Grand Lake Theater until I was about 8 and probably saw all of my childhood movies there….loving the album cover AND all of the political marquee shots….

  5. Jimbo Says:

    That is so cool. What a gorgeous marquee! Nicely produced, mi amigo. Looking forward to listening as well.

  6. Flava Furr Says:

    Art Director!

  7. dkpresents Says:

    Bastard! No man calls me that and lives…

  8. Rob Says:

    Duke Sux!!

  9. esbandido Says:

    Furr’s right.

    Perhaps you should start sprinkling your writing with consistently annoying grammatical errors and misspellings.

  10. JD Says:

    What’s your peanut butter doing in my chocolate?” “What’s your chocolate doing in my peanut butter?” Two great tastes — DK and the Grand Lake — that taste great together. 510 represent! “

  11. kdub Says:

    I’m laughing at JD using the phrase “510 represent!” She so white.

    This is very cool. Once again you show us that Dan is the Man.

  12. DancingTool Says:

    Was instantly reminded of Hitchcock when I saw you with that sign…with a little Frank Chu mixed in for local flavor.

    For those not familiar with Frank’s tireless work in the Bay Area:

    http://www.whack.org/~skott/guiltied.html

  13. Arlo Chingaderas Says:

    You so crazy!!! Amazing work (as usual).

  14. ronny knight Says:

    Hey Dan! Nice blog coverage of the shoot. Thanks for the props and for another fun project! Always fun teaming up with you!!! Good times.

  15. Jonesy Says:

    This brings back memories of the old Mayflower theatre on campus. The undershot of the awning reminds me of the first time I saw the evil empire’s Star Destroyer pass over the screen chasing the rebel cruiser. My brother, sister & I flashed light sabres and shot laser guns all the way across the U of O campus back to the car, and for the first time in my life I thought to myself, “wow, Star Trek really sucks.”
    This album/project is easily in my DK top 5, and it is no easy task breaking into that arena.
    I immediately dashed it into my music playing mechanism and spun it twice through. Even Little B loved it…although he could have just been laughing at Dad’s ridiculous dancing style.
    I give it 5 stars and rate it Star Wars IV cool.

  16. Flava Furr Says:

    Nice work boys. Especially love the fisheye stuff

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

