The P Speaks: Basement Treasures

by

On our recent trip back to the P family homestead, I was reunited with an old friend.

Continuing the tradition of rescuing (read: pack-ratting) ancient (read: heavy and breakable) components and dragging them across the country, I carried my 32 year-old friend back to California in my suitcase.

As you might imagine, this looked a bit unusual in the airport x-ray machine, so the nice TSA folks tossed the contents of my suitcase like a ceasar salad. (Any person crazy enough to pack this 30 pound case of wires must be a true security threat!) And once I’d emptied my pockets to show that I wasn’t hiding a reel-to-reel or any wayward 8-tracks and we’d collectively negotiated the threat level back down to chartreuse, the war on terror and air travellers was pushed to the background for a few minutes as the Agents all gathered around to take a look at my treasured receiver and offer their opinions on its merits.

This little gem was the heartbeat of our household for many many years, and has a strong affinity for classical and jazz. She’s a little powerhouse, with snappy push buttons and strong, solid tuning knobs. Her signal window is downright sexy.

But the best thing about her is her warm green glow.

Welcome home!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “The P Speaks: Basement Treasures”

  1. World B. Furr Says:

    Congratulations. I’ve wanted to make the TSA folks toss my salad for years.

  2. Arlo Chingaderas Says:

    She’s a beauty… well worth the trek.

    Love that warm green glow….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

